9 Apr 2011

Lilleshall 5Mile 6th April 2011

Last Wednesday was the Lileshall 5Mile race, the first race of six in the Telford AC Sexarathon Series. Good weather saw a record turnout of 329 finishers for the event now in its 29th Year. Again sponsored by Up and Running, Shrewsbury and this year supported by Pondicherry, Ironbridge

An opening mile of 4.48 lead out by Ross Jones(Tipton) and Peter Butler (Oswestry) saw a large group still in contention, by 2 miles the group had been whittled down to six runners, Jones, Butler, Dave Evans (Wolves and Bilston), Pete Middleton (Shrewsbury) and Telford Athletic Clubs Chris Davies and Chris Rimmer.

Davies took the lead at about 2½Miles and began to stretch the field out, by 3½Mile he had about 30metres on Jones with Rimmer a similar distance behind Jones. This stayed the same until the finish where Davies stopped the clock at 25.31, Jones 2nd in 25.42 and Rimmer 3rd 25.55. Dave Evans was 4th and 1st V35 in 26.51 leading home a strong Wolves and Bilston contingent, who had 1st V45 with Steve Cunningham in 28.10, 1st V40 with Paul Thacker in 29.30 and Terry Bullock 1st V50 in 30.50, Telfords Ryan Heath ran well for a top 10 finish and 1st Junior man to finish with 28.22.

Six time Sexarathon champion Claire Martin (Telford AC) led home the women's field with a impressive run leading from gun to tape, finishing in 28.46, Claire Burgoyne (Shrewsbury AC) was 2nd in 30.57, with defending series champion Michelle Clarke 3rd home in 31.15. Telford's Cheralyn Evans was first V45 to finish in 34.39, closely followed by team mate Juliet Hoad in 34.59. While first V40 women to finish was Lisa Blagden in 35.37.

Other Category winners were:

David Daniels (Cobra RC) V55 32.10
Paul Williams (Wrekin RR) V60 32.57
David Whymans (Amazing Feet) V65 34.39
James Bibb (Dudley Kingswinsford) V70 45.10
Mick Ward (Oswestry Olympians) V75 47.34

Wendy Scott (Wrekin RR) L50 40.06
Barbara Ward (Oswestry Olympians) L55 38.58
Diane Edge (West Bromwich H) L60 41.32

The next race in the series is the Phoenix flyer 5km which takes place at the Phoenix School, Dawley on 18th May at 7.30pm

No comments:

Post a Comment