7 Aug 2011

Vic Musgrove 5 Kilometre Race

Vic Musgrove Five.

Claire Martin and Chris Davies continued their winning ways as the Telford AC pair continued their unbeaten run in this years 29th Up and Running Sexarathon Series with win number 5 in the recent Vic Musgrove 5 kilometre race in the Telford Town Park. The race named in memory of a former Telford Athletic Club stalwart Vic Musgrove, from Hollinswood. Chris who had just returned from an invitational road race in Sardinia, one of just two non Italian Europeans to be invited, made a steady start to the Town Park race and it was only over the final two kilometres that he hit the front winning in 16.07 just ten seconds ahead of Wolverhampton's Daniel Maskew with Wolves athletes taking the next 3 places including the 2001 Sexarathon champion Dave Smith in 4th. Dale Wilkinson, having one of his highest ever Sexarathon finishes was 6th in 16.55 and led a strong group of Telford AC athletes who filled the next 6 places. Claire Martin, the womens race winner was amongst them finishing 7th overall in 17.03 . Jamie Davies was the next man home in 8th, 17.14 with Martin Turnock 9th in 17.21, Sam Garmson 10th in 17.24 and Gary Vickers 11th in 17.25.

Claire Martin retained the overall lead in the womens section winning by 30 seconds from the fast improving Shrewsbury AC athlete Claire Burgoyne in 17.38 for 14th overall. Sue Street from Tipton was 3rd in 18.39, whilst the current Sexarathon Champion Michelle Clarke from Telford AC was 4th in 19.04 with her team mate Cheralyn Evans enjoying a return to form finishing 5th and first over 45 in 19.12. Shropshire Shufflers athlete helena Bramwell was 6th and first over 40 in 19.43, whilst Juliet Hoad was 7th and 2nd over 45 in 20.22, 8th was another TAC athlete Lisa Blagden in 21.05 with Telford Harriers Rachel Gibson 9th in 21.47 and Kathryn Morgans from Wolves and Bilston 10th in 21.49.

There is just one race to go in the Sexarathon Series the 5 kilometre Madeley Matchmaker to be held on Wednesday 7th September at 7 pm from Madeley Court Sports Centre, entries on the night for non Sexarathon runners are welcome for runners of all abilities.

Paul Sanderson.

Current standings after 5 races in all categores are

Women Overall
1. Claire Martin. TAC. 500 pts. ( over 35 )
2. Claire Burgoyne. SAC 495 pts
3. Michelle Clarke. TAC 490 pts. ( Over 35 )

Women over 35
1. Deborah Scotcher. Market Drayton 485 pts
2. Lorraine Blythe. Tel H 462 pts
3. Michelle Evans. Tel H 449 pts

Women over 40.
1. Cheralyn Evans. TAC 500 pts
2. Juliet Hoad. TAC 495 pts
3. Julie Allen. Dudley 486 pts

Women over 50
1. Wendy Scott. Wrekin 500 pts.
2. Sally McConville. Dudley 495 pts
3. Deb Sandeman. Wrekin 486 pts.

Women Over 55
1. Barbara Ward. Oswestry 500 pts
2. Hilary Hollington. Sneyd. 486 pts
3. Ursula Elwell. Cobra 485 pts.

Women Over 60
1. Anne Strowger. Newport 500 pts
2. Cynthia Lewis. Tel H 493 pts
3. Naomi Wrighton. Tel H 198 pts.

Men overall
1. Chris Davies. TAC. 500 pts
2. Daniel Maskew. W & B. 489 pts
3. Daniel Brazier. W & B. 484 pts

Men Over 35
1. Dale Wilkinson TAC 500 pts
2. Dean Blythe Tel H 495 pts
3. Ben Calder SAC 490 pts

Men Over 40
1. Dave Smith W & B. 499 pts
2. Gary Vickers TAC 490 pts
3. Paul Tabor W & B 474 pts

Men Over 45
1. Steve Cunningham W & B 500 pts
2. Kevin Francis SAC 495 pts
3. Paul Williams TAc 488 PTS.

Men Over 50
1. Terry Bullock W & B 495 pts
2. Keith Sylvester Shrop Shuff 494 pts
3. Steve Jones TAC 491 pts

Men Over 55
1. Jonathan Morgan. Whitchurch 490 pts
2. Stephen Loundes. Chase Harriers 487 pts
3. Dave O Loughlin. RAF 482 pts.

Men Over 60
1. Glen Lock. W & B 490 pts
2. Rick Tyrer. Unattached 485 pts
3. Brian Russell. Dudley 483 pts

Men Over 65
1. Peter Davies. Birchfield 400 pts
2. Alan Hodgkiss. TAC 395 pts
3. Ian Emery. Wrekin RR 387 pts

Men Over 70
1. James Bibb, Dudley 500 pts
2. John Buckby. West Brom 396 pts
3. Mick Ward. Oswestry 295 pts.

No comments:

Post a Comment