19 Oct 2013

Presentation Evening

Telford Athletic Club Annual Presentation Evening.

Leading athletes from Telford Athletic Club collected awards at the Annual Presentation Evening held at the Park Inn Telford on Friday. Fran Garrott and Jim Tipper ( as pictured ) won the best track and field awards for their performance of the year. Fran won the award for her 3rd place in the national Under 15 Javelin Championships as well as previously finishing 6th in the English Schools, she finished the year with a superb personal best at the Telford Games in September throwing 36.10m and finished the season ranked in 3rd place in the country. Tipper won the award following the silver medal in the European Indoor Masters 200m Championships in San Sebastian, Spain in March running 23.16 after qualifying for the final with a semi final in 23.06.

Eva Wade and Alex Burrows won the best junior cross country performances of the year for their superb performances in last years Midland Cross Country Championships whilst the senior cross country awards were won by Claire Martin and Greg Wilson, both leading contenders in their masters categories within Great Britain. The Best Performances on the Road awards were won by the Telford Womens Masters Road Relay team of Kim Fawke, Michelle Clarke, Julie Kirby and Claire Martin who finished third in this years British Road Relay Championships whilst Wayne Dashper won the mens award for his victory in the inaugural Shrewsbury Marathon.

Ellie Vernon from Muxton won the Vic Musgrove Award for the Best Javelin Performance of the Year as she is ranked the number one under 13 javelin thrower in the country for her 37.73m throw, 2 metres further than anyone else, whilst winning for Shropshire Schools in an inter county match at Tamworth in July. Ryan Heath who was second in this years Sexarathon Series won the award as the most improved senior runner of the year.

Paul Sanderson

No comments:

Post a Comment